top of page

FACE-OFF! SALLY HANSEN VS. ESSIE


Ooooooo burrrrnnnnnnnn......someone is going DOWN.

Hold on to your seats, folks....it is time for the

NAIL STICKERS FACE-OFF!!!!!!! SALLY HANSEN VS. ESSIE

I used to despise doing my nails. Yes, it is okay to be feminine and abhor manicures. Why find revulsion with pampering, you might ask?

..BOREDOM..

I have a difficult time sleeping at night...my mind doesn't want to shut off...I have to remain 'on the go' or I feel awkward in life...and forcing me to sit down for an hour without use of my hands is straight-up torture.

I WANT TO MAKE LISTS! LET ME MAKE LISTS! I NEED TO WRITE! I NEED TO READ! I NEED TO PLAY A MINDLESS GAME ON MY PHONE!!!!

You get the picture....need I say more?

As a result, my commitment to manicures came to a very premature end. I couldn't justify spending an hour...and a significant amount of money...on pretty nails that would require touch-ups or replacement a few weeks later.

That's when I found Sally Hansen.

It was an act of desperation. We a very important gala to attend and NO TIME for manicures. Low and behold, CVS offered me a solution: Sally Hansen Nail Polish Strips. It is funny what you will try when desperate.

I actually liked them!

Sally quickly became my 'go-to girl' for pretty nails in a pinch. I was amazed that these fancy designs would last up to 3 weeks...longer than most of my professional gel manicures lasted. Not only that, I could do it myself...and it would LOOK GOOD. I have notoriously shaky hands, painting my own nails is out of the question. Sally Hansen's nail polish strips were a sublime solution for people like ME. Not only that, but they were surprisingly affordable at about $11 dollars a set. I could do that twice in a month and STILL be cheaper than professional manicures ($22 versus $60).

FAST FORWARD SEVERAL MONTHS

Confession: I am obsessed with the Dollar Tree.

I began filming video segments weekly, requiring closeups of projects and by default: my nails. I found myself once more dreading the act of doing my own nails, primarily because Sally Hansen nails were SO HARDCORE that it took FOREVER to remove them and apply a new design. WHY ARE NAILS THE BANE OF MY EXISTENCE!!!!!

Now comes the Dollar Tree.

I was shopping for supplies (I try to use affordable supplies in all of my videos) and came across the beauty section. Normally I steer clear of this section in the Dollar Tree, butttttttttttttttt today I was looking for cheap eyelashes. Haha, yeah,...I totally was.

Low and behold....a beacon in the night. NAIL POLISH STRIPS!!!! FOR A DOLLAR!!!!!!

I wasn't familiar with the Essie brand of nail polish strips...but for a DOLLAR, who wouldn't give them a shot!? Plus they had REALLY CUTE DESIGNS.

I swiped one of every design in case they sold out before I returned. I was willing to invest for a dollar a pack. It did NOT disappoint.

I fell in LOVE with Essie nail stickers. They have a VERY DIFFERENT purpose than Sally Hansen in my eyes. They were thicker...and far easier to just peel off when ready to change them. They also lasted over a week without peeling..probably longer...but I was changing my nails almost every week at that point.

I actually went back and bought 30 packs of them to last me for the future as well. You never know when the Dollar Tree will stop carrying items.

I do believe they are available at Target in a pinch.

I didn't feel it was fair to determine which brand is 'BETTER' than the other. In truth, they each have an ideal use perfect for certain occasions. This is how they stacked up in my eyes:

So there it is my little daredevils! I hope this post was informative and helpful! Please comment and share!

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page